Beat it bitch

Immagine4

What else but fresh egg pasta could have inaugurated this section? At the end of the day I am a pasta-land citizen and even though PASTA IS NOT ALL WE EAT, differently from what many foreigners think, it is undoubtedly the most important player of the Italian culinary culture. I think I won’t make a huge mistake if I say that every Italian family eats dried pasta at least once a day; pasta dishes are mainly served for lunch as they are incredibly easy to make and can be prepared between 12.30, when mamas get out of their offices or  go to pick up their kids from school, and 13.00 when papas come back from work and the meal is served. On the contrary fresh egg pasta is something made only for specific family meals and occasions; in my personal family experience the making of fresh pasta is related to sunday meals. When I was younger I used to love sleeping at my grandma’s on a saturday night and what I remember most vividly of those sunday mornings is walking into the kitchen around 9.00 am for breakfast and seeing my grandma bent over the pastry board, already half covered with tortellini, kneading more dough. Oh the beautiful smell of fresh pasta mixed with my grandma’s cold coffee is something that cannot be descried with words. I apologise, concision has never been my forte; let’s go back to this precious recipe and discover how to make sheets of pasta -also called phyllo dough-  in my grandma’s words typed in italics

Ingredients:  

  • 1 egg per serving/person
  • 4 spoons of flours per each egg
  • salt
  • time
  • arms strength

Primarily, in order to make good pasta you need a wooden pastry board as only its roughness will give pasta a strong character; I don’t really understand what this means but if you don’t have one go and buy it before continue reading! Now, as showed in the pictures below, begin by making a fountain of flour with a deep wide crater where you will break and beat your eggs with a fork. Make sure to keep the flour piled as to contain eggs and  when the eggs have homogeneously mixed start bringing the flour little by little into the eggs. When the eggs have been completely absorbed by the flour it begins the most delicate phase of the pasta-making in which you have to literally beat the pasta with your hands as the pasta needs the heat of your palms. This is also the last moment in which the dough can be rectified by either adding water if the dough is too hard or flour if the dough is too soft. Immagine1-1

It took me a while to understand what beat the pasta meant. Essentially: place the palms of your hands on top of the dough, now pinch its edge with your fingertips and apply a perpendicular pressure with the bottom part of your hand, the one closest to the wrist, while you keep pinching the pasta. If that is too complicated or for some reasons you skipped geometry classes at school imagine to be fucking someone hard, and with your hands placed on its shoulders nerves you slide forward and backward as you are about to reach the orgasm.Immagine6-2Well if you manage to beat the pasta with the pre-orgasm intensity and pressure for about 20 minutes you are done; while if you get stucked or if you stop as you get tired it might take a bit longer but the pasta itself will tell you when it’s ready as the  dough will get hot in your hands and when cut in half it will show none or very little bubbles. Now place the pasta in a bowl, cling film it and leave it in the fridge for at least an hour before shaping it as you like.

Immagine3e-1What are you waiting for now?  BEAT IT BITCH.

12 thoughts on “Beat it bitch

  1. Pingback: Pasta Secca Vs. Pasta all'Uovo | Beat it bitch ...

  2. Pingback: Pasta Secca Vs. Pasta all’Uovo | Beat it bitch | goodthingsfromitaly

  3. Pingback: Beat it bitch | pastadeliciousblog

  4. Hi!

    Excellent post! It’ll help me developing my pasta making, I’ve never done such a thing as “Beat it”. Lots of tips to learn here (never put the pasta in the fridge before shaping it, I will give it a try).

  5. I am looking for a recipe and instructions on how to make frascarelli. My grandparents came from Civitanova and my mother would like to make this but we have no recipe for this dish. Thanks so much for any advice.

    Sandra

    • Hey, thanks a lot!! I am so glad people are enjoying it as much as I do.
      Well I don’t know for how long I will be running the blog but I don’t see the end near now i love writing it too much! thanks again

  6. Pingback: How to make Cappelletti | mamadegree

  7. Pingback: Fresca li Frascarelli | mamadegree

Leave a Reply

